Links in a Chain - the Mayors of Bolton
Links in a Chain - The Mayors of Bolton
HomeBoltonFarnworthKearsleyLittle LeverHorwichWesthoughtonTurtonBlackrodMayoral InsigniaFreedom of BoltonCivic HeraldryBolton Town HallIndexLinksThanksContact Us

Sydney John Morgan

Chairman of Kearsley Urban District Council: 1941-42 (Conservative)

Born: Atherton, Lancashire 1878

Died: Droitwich, Worcestershire November 1966

Headmaster of St Saviour's C of E School, Ringley 1913-1943.

He came to Ringley after teaching experience in Liverpool and Worcestershire and later at Little Hulton, Worsley Road and Harwood Wesleyans.

During the First World War he was a member of the teaching staff at Worsley Technical School.

Elected to the Council in 1934.

Chairman of the Finance and Higher Education Committees. He was also a member of the first Library committee and the National Savings Committee.

He was the first representative from the Ringley district to be Chairman.

He was a member of Ringley Conservative Club and a Vice-President and Trustee.

Anglican - he worked hard for St Saviour's Church and was Vicar's Warden for the Rev T Dilworth Harrison (1918-1927) and for the Rev W R J Higgitt (1927-34).



Heritage Lottery Fund Logo
Arms of Bolton Metropolitan Borough
Bolton Council
colour band